National Eligibility Test (NET)

The National Educational Testing Bureau of University Grants Commission (UGC) conducts National Eligibility Test (NET) for lectureship and for awarding Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) to Indian nationals. The purpose of the test is to ensure minimum standards for the entrants in the teaching profession and research. The examination (UGC NET) is held twice a year, i.e. in the months of June and December.

The UGC NET exam is roughly conducted in 79 subjects. The test is conducted in Humanities (including languages), Social Sciences, Forensic Science, Environmental Sciences, Computer Science and Applications and Electronic Science. The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) conducts the UGC-CSIR NET for other Science subjects like Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Mathematical Sciences and Earth Atmospheric Ocean and Planetary Sciences jointly with the UGC.

For candidates who desire to pursue research, the Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) is available for 5 years subject to fulfillment of certain conditions. UGC has allocated a number of fellowships to the universities for the candidates who qualify the test for JRF. The JRF’s are awarded to the meritorious candidates from the candidates qualifying the eligibility for lectureship in the NET. Although JRF’s are available only to the candidates who opt for it in their application forms.

National Eligibility Test (NET)
take exam
Computer Science & ApplicationsTake Exam
EducationTake Exam
Environmental SciencesTake Exam
GeographyTake Exam
HistoryTake Exam
Life SciencesTake Exam
ManagementTake Exam
Physical EducationTake Exam
Political ScienceTake Exam
Public AdminiStration Take Exam
SociologyTake Exam